M1A1 Abrams

This post is on my latest project, my M1A1 Abrams.  I have been working on this model for a while, and I am now finished!  Here are some specs:

  1. Kit Brand:  Academy.
  2. Model Scale:  1/35.
  3. Model Of:  M1A1 Abrams.

Over all this has been a very nice kit to build, all the pieces went together well and look good.  Detail on this kit is also very good, except I noticed there are a lot of ejector pin marks.

Here are a few pics.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used Model Master spray paint for the base color of “Desert Sand.”  To weather the tank I used Vallejo acrylics and washes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I found out the hard way that the decals for this model are a little delicate.  I ruined the main decals for the turret and the “WarPig” decal for the barrel, so I used a sharpie marker for the square like markings on the turret, and I hand painted the “WarPig” on the barrel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The kit came with two marking options.  A US Army or US Marine tank, both of which served in Iraq 2003.  I chose the Marine markings.  I also want to make a diorama or a cool base for this model sometime soon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In this last picture you can see how I flowed washes into the engine screens to make the detail pop out!

 

4 thoughts on “M1A1 Abrams

  1. Noelle Harris

    This is my second favorite model beside the Tiger you made. I just noticed the little gun on top, is that called a turret? Or does it have a different name of it’s own? This is really cool! I like the dusky look on it. How many models of tanks have you made already?

    Like

    Reply
    1. zkwh Post author

      Thanks Noelle! The little guns on top are just called MG’s. (Machine Guns) If you look closely you can see that behind the MG’s are little hatches for a solder to come out. This is the fourth model that I have made so far. (Not including one that I scratch built)

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

